What Do You Want To See?

One of the fundamental truths in life is that the Universe provides to you that which you focus your attention on. So if you are focusing on the negative, or what you do not want in life, all the Universe can hear is that topic. If you instead focus your attention on what you want to see happen in the world around you, magically your dreams will start to manifest.

This is still a lesson that is challenging for me at times. When we are trained in society to focus on the negative (look at the news for example), it takes some time to retrain ourselves to live in the realm of what we DO want. I am becoming more and more conscious of this practice, and the longer I am able to hold myself in that place I see more of what I want manifesting around me.

I was once again reminded of this while watching youtube videos about permaculture. When we focus on what is wrong with our food system, and spend time trying to blame mega companies and the government, we are doing nothing more than supporting them with our energy. Instead, we need to make the effort to make changes in our life that reflect what we want to see in this system. If there are enough people demanding wholesome, sustainable, organic foods, that is what the system will  produce.

What do you want to see for our future? How about a world in which there is more than enough food for each and every person (and they have open access to it, with no limitations). A world in which disease is a minority rather than a majority, and when someone is sick there is open access to what ever healer is best suited for their situation (physical, mental, energetic, etc). A world in which energy is free and plentiful, so there is no reason to fight over resources. A world in which every one has equal opportunity in everything, and in which we all support each other. A world in which the wealth lies within each individual instead of a piece of paper we call money and worship as a false god.

Ok, now that you are starting to develop your vision of the future, what are the first steps that you can take? These steps will be different for each and every one of us. We are all on our own paths as part of the greater picture.

Two of my greatest passions are nature, and gardening/farming. Now these should be in the same realm, but in the last century the world of farming has turned its focus to dominating and killing nature in the name of production. My ultimate dream is to see people reconnecting with nature, and developing a sustainable world in which we can all live abundant and healthy lives in harmony with the earth that supports us.

Lately I have been studying the sustainable art of permaculture. Permaculture could very well be one of the biggest steps we take to healing our earth and ourselves. Producing food through the Permaculture method not only creates a sustainable model for the earth, but it also produces an amazing quantity and quality of food. It really is quite funny, because turning to this method is simply returning to the wisdom of our ancestors.

I am including a few videos that I found very inspiring and informative. Anyone that has land, any size of land, can take the steps toward growing some or all of their own food. Whether you have a postage stamp sized yard, or acres of land, you can develop your own sustainable landscape. You donโ€™t know where to start? How about a fruit tree? And then a fruit bush? And then a few herbs? Before you know it you will be a master gardener! And if you donโ€™t want to be a gardener/farmer? Then support the small farmers locally that have a passion for working with the earth.

What will our future look like? What do you want to see? I see a beautiful world, in which we respect ourselves, each other and our beloved earth.

 

 

 

A Permaculture Food Forest
9 thoughts on “What Do You Want To See?

  1. Although I can’t watch the videos without burning a lot of limited Bytes, I totally agree about supporting the local small farmers. I’m not much of a green thumb, but did pretty well with a garden in Tonasket. Someday, I will garden again. Maybe some enclosed containers at the North Rim.

    My current vision involves traveling to natural landscapes around the world and sharing my experiences with others while getting paid enough to cover the travel expenses.

    I’m so glad to see you writing here again. Sounds like life is going pretty good. Do you have internet at home now? What else have you been up to other than preparing for your garden?

    • Gaelyn,

      I like your vision of what you want to draw into your experience. There are so many beautiful things that we can experience in life! I always love seeing your photos from your explorations!

  2. Hi Stacey,

    We are also researching permaculture and excited about getting a permaculturist to come to our property to do a consultation. I believe it is a positive outcome that the pendulum swings from the extremes and that we are getting back to taking stewardship of the land and what we eat.

    Look forward to watching the videos.

    Love to you and Bernie.

    • Miruh,

      There is so much that can be done with Permaculture! I would love to hear what direction you decide to go with permaculture on your property. Thankfully there are people that are making the changes, hopefully the trend will grow exponentially! So that we can heal ourselves and our earth!

      Thank you for stopping by! Its always such a treat to see you here.

  3. Hi Stacey

    What you wrote was so beautiful and so right on with how I feel. Focus and where we put our attention is key. We often don’t realize how much energy we waste by focusing on the problem, instead of investing our energy into the solutions. Thank you for sharing all that so beautifully and for the valuable videos too. Very fascinating and I know now the fun part is just to keep learning…start small and just keep adding on as we learn ๐Ÿ™‚

    It will be exciting to get started on this year’s growing season ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Evita,

      Indeed, there is SO much available to learn! I look forward to learning more and more about permaculture. I am learning more and more to turn my focus to what I do want to see. This is a lesson I am still moving through, but I look forward to when I am able to allow all thoughts of what I do not want to just float past me, instead of sweeping me away.

  4. Hi Stacey
    I enjoyed reading this post and your most recent one about Permaculture which I am just beginning to learn about.
    It can take alot of learning to find the silver lining in every cloud and it is true that when you are feeling low, you will only see what isn’t there, rather than what is. However, with belief and support we can start to find a way of managing what feels hopeless, distressing and difficult and draw out the positives to effect a better outcome for us.
    I want to live in a world where we treat each other and all our fellow beings with respect, kindness and compassion. I want humanity and the animal kingdom to live in harmony.
    I want us to grow food for our own consumption rather than for the animals that we then kill to eat. I yearn for a world of sustainable societies where everyone finds peace, harmony with the Natural World,an opportunity to find fulfillment and a desire to Love and nourish.
    The future is ours to co-create and to co-exsist.
    I campaign for a Vegan world but a compassionate one is more achievable perhaps for now!

  5. Hi, Stacey. I love how you phrased this: “When we focus on what is wrong with our food system, and spend time trying to blame mega companies and the government, we are doing nothing more than supporting them with our energy.” My friends and I have wound ourselves up in the whole ‘Monsanto’/GMO thing, and that’s not how I want to place my food focus. Back to the beginning… ๐Ÿ˜‰ Thank you.

  6. I love the message you share: you are what you eat. How you feel about what you eat determines the experience. Focus on what is nourishing and healthy and you invite more of the feel-good experience into your awareness.

Leave a Reply

