Summer Slipping Away

Where did this summer go? It truly melted away on me.

So what have I been doing with my summer?

It doesn’t feel like a whole lot actually.

Primarily I have been working, and often I am so tired from my morning of running around the restaurant, I feel like doing little else.

And so many afternoons are simply spent relaxing around home, and sometimes even napping.

When I do keep my energy up for the day, we make it out into nature for hikes.

And while there have been a lot less hikes this summer than usual, they have all been equally stunning!

These photos are from our hike to Cutthroat Pass.

We took the Cutthroat Lake trail up, and arrived at the Pacific Crest Trail at the pass.

It is fun to re-visit the Pacific Crest Trail any time we can.

These moments in nature have been very healing for my soul, and a wonderful workout for my body.

So often I wish I could just sit in one spot for days and absorb all the beauty that surrounds me in these areas.

And my garden has been keeping me busy these days.

As you can see in comparison to my earlier photo, the garden has filled in a Lot!

It is amazing how much food can be produced from such a small amount of land.

I have to admit I am not keeping up with my garden as much as I would like,

but I am managing to harvest and preserve a lot of what is coming out of it.

And eating some amazing fresh meals from it all also.

The other night I made a spectacular roasted tomato and basil soup.

The freshness of all the ingredients, and then the intense flavor of roasting was amazing!

I have also been enjoying canning.

I have a great abundance of jams, along with a few other canned items.

Now as our cooler evenings roll around, and the plants in my garden and nature mature,

I am reminded that summer is coming to a close already.

While I wish I had more of it to enjoy, I value the memories I did make this season.

I hope you all had a most magical summer, and were able to experience some of natures wonder!

10 thoughts on “Summer Slipping Away

  1. Working and living amongst the beauty of nature sometimes means getting out into it less than when we travel to it. Plus working takes a lot of time.

    Love your garden.

    • Gaelyn,

      Yes indeed, sometimes it is challenging to find the time to get out and enjoy the beauty that surrounds us. And my intention this summer was to make money, and so with that I gave up some of my energy to put toward other endeavors. But even without being able to get out in it all the time, one can not beat being surrounded with such beauty on a daily basis. I know that you experience this each day with your time spent at the Grand Canyon.

      As always, I truly enjoy your visits!

  2. This is the first post in a long time to show itself on my following gadget. Sometimes I get quite frustrated with blogger.

    Hiking itself, especially in the mountains, rejuvenated both the body and the soul. The wonder of the wildflowers is a bonus and from what I have seen trawling down your blog, nature has put on a spectacular show for you.
    It is so satisfying to eat from your own garden, not only the flavour and freshness but the knowledge that it is all clean produce.

    You need some play-time, can you take some time off to enjoy the fall?

    • Arija,

      You know, I think it is that I am so used to my freedom, and living a life of play time, which makes it challenging in some ways for my soul to get used to having a “real” job. It has been a good experience though.

      And yes, nature is always a powerful healer when I make the time to go out and enjoy all that she has to offer. This afternoon we took a most beautiful hike in the mountains, and it felt so good in so many ways. It makes the soul feel vibrant!

      The freshness and love that goes into the produce is what I so love from the garden. Its amazing to nurture a plant from seed through harvest. So neat!

      I hope you have been enjoying nature in your own ways!

    • Misti,

      If I have the focus to get some pictures taken, I will take you for a tour for sure! Although up close it might not look as lush and groomed as the over all picture does! lol. It is a fun project though.

  3. Wow Stacey, the garden is so lush, I had to go back to the earlier photo to check it out again. You inspire me to work harder next year or rather right now to start building up the soil so my garden can look like yours. Well done!

    • Miruh,

      So Lovely to see you here! Yes, a garden is an ever changing painting. One that takes work, love and a little sweat. This garden is a shared space. The people we live with and do work trade for very generously shared some of the garden space with me for the summer months. I built the raised bed that I am using, and filled it with some composted manure, which worked well enough for one season, but the bed needs a LOT more. It is an on going process to feed the soil. I love gardening though, its so peaceful and satisfying.

  4. Life is SO amazing, I was just out in my garden (which I hope to at some point share photos of) and pulling up my bucket-fulls beets. And I thought of you SO much. Then I came in and found your comment on my blog, and just HAD to come and see if you had photos of your garden. Talk about synchronicity!

    Yesterday, I picked tons and tons of summer squash, zukes, acorn squash, a few ornamental gourdes, cukes, sage, mint, rosemary, savory, yellow tomaotes, and more. Today I will wash and freeze my beets, and also some chard. Second crop of green beans coming on. And some REEEEEEALLY HUUUUUUUGE pumpkins, and almost-ready to pick butternut squash, tons of gourds of all kinds that will stay on the vine for now. Just so much food.

    I FINALLY found the page that has the raw, brine, cultured pickles http://www.tealightfullyours.com/raw-brine-pickled-watermelon-rinds-or-half-sours-raw-cultured-vegetables/TeaSmittenMomma

    STACEY! These are sooooooooooo good.I didn’t use watermelon rind, but used my home grown pickling cucumbers instead. I alone have already eaten a whole gallon of them. They are GREAT for increasing intestinal flora, like yogurt, etc. Except I am vegan and don’t eat dairy, but these are so good. I altered the recipe and added red onion chunks from my garden as well as garlic. I also used the same recipe for raw beets from my garden. SO GOOD. **** Also if you have a grape vine near you, add one grape leaf per small quart jar, or two leaves to a gallon jar. Grape leaves make your pickles crisper.

    This recipe is how the pioneers used to make pickles of all kinds. I even drink the juice as it is loaded with friendly bacteria. Don’t throw it out. Use it as salad dressgin along with cold pressed olive oil, or use it egg salad )if you eat eggs — I’m began and don’t but I KNOW it would good) or potato salad, green salad, etc or in any other dish that you want to “spark up” a bit. I adjusted the salt level and used a REALLY good quality, mineral rich, sea salt. And cut down on my salt, as I don’t do much salt. But you should try a batch just using the recipe as it is first and see how you like it. Mine have kept WEEKS in the fridge. I have also used young zucchinis in place of cukes. You could also use green beans. I did that too. I cut way down on the chili peppers in them as I don’t handle much hot food. I LOVE it, but it makes my stomach feel sick after I eat it.

    I am SO glad I finally found this recipe for you. I couldn’t find it after I printed it out, and then lost the printed page, and just did them by “feel ” after that, as I rarely use recipes. But the other night, I stayed up googling and googling determined to find it for you. You could even try it with food you buy at the farmer’s market if you don’t have any garden produce left. I have already made 2 dozen quarts of cuke and beet pickles using this recipe, also 2 large gallon glass jars of cukes and green beans and onoion (and the onions stay SO crispy!!! I will be doing more pickles as the food comes in from the garden. The cool thing is, is that you don’t have to pasteurize them. They are totally raw and don’t lose their enzymes.

    We had SO much garden produce that I can barely keep up on it. We both love working in the garden together and spent many peaceful pre-sunrise morns in the garden, just Stephen and me, watching the world come to life. Such fond memories. I really LIVED this summer.

    Love you so so much. You are never forgotten and I always with you., dear sweet precious friend of my heart. I have LOVED ALL your emails. Save them and adore them. Adore you. Robin πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  5. PS: LOL! πŸ™‚ I noticed today that Evita decided not to make raw pickles with brine as she said something about the “risk”. You might want to ask her about that. I can only say I’ve been doing it for years and so far had no problems. But it might have something to do with the “bacteria”/food poisoning. Not sure. Just check with her to see what she says. I’ve made them with various recipes and no store bought culture, and then also made cultured veggies WITH store bought culture. I like the batches I’ve made this summer the best, which were with the recipe page I gave you. But you might ask her what she is doing and why. Either way, you want to sterilize you jars before making them. Huge hugs of love to you dear sweet friend. Robin πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

