A Long Walk With Nature

We have finished another great pilgrimage! The Appalachian Trail was a great challenge for me in many ways, much more so than I thought it would be. It feels really good to be done right now, but I am also very grateful that it was an experience that I saw through to the end. This spring/summer we hiked about 2,500 trail miles, starting 300 miles before the Appalachian Trail (AT) in Alabama. 

 

Here we are at the start of the AT on top of Springer Mountain in Georgia, after our 300 mile warm up.

 

Of course there is more than can be said about such a journey, but at the same time there is something so simple about the lifestyle on the trail. We carry everything we need on our backs, get up in the morning and hike until dusk, and enjoy nature as much as we can. As with any life style there are good days and bad days.

I love the simplicity of trail life though, you are living a pretty self sufficient lifestyle in which you are moving with the rhythms of the world around you. This is something that I think many people dont get to experience very often in their lifetimes.

 

I made it to the end! Here I am on the top of Mount Katahdin, an amazing end point for our journey!

 

This is Bernie’s second time making the journey from Georgia to Maine.

 

We took (and by that I mean mostly Bernie) over 1,900 pictures of our trip. Bernie will be putting pictures and his story on his blog soon, and this time around (since we now have highspeed internet!!!) I hope to share some of the pictures also and tell my own story of the hike. With this I hope to share at least a little bit of what I experience out on our long distance hikes both physically and spiritually/feeling. It feels great to be back home! And I look f0rward to catching up with all my lovely online friends also! I hope you all are having a wonderful summer so far!

14 thoughts on “A Long Walk With Nature

  1. It is so good to have your back Bernie. FOr the past week you have been constantly on my mind wondering where the two of you are.

    Another great hike done but it sure was a long one. Nice to know you are back safe and sound.

    PS Sometimes you will see I might still be logged in as southafricaninsects as this is another site I am working on.

    Hugs to both of you,
    Joan

  2. Hi Stacey

    Oh what an awesome time this must be for you!

    It must really feel incredible, to not only have decided to do it, persevere but also finish.

    Your smiles are unmistakable, so big and full of pure joy and happiness! Congrats again, and now perhaps for a nice well deserved rest…

    By the way, the new site look is awesome and that photo of you in the header is priceless!

  3. Congratulations! And home in time to enjoy the end of summer in Washington… Quite an accomplishment. Thanks for your postcard, and please stay in touch. We’ll watch for your posts, to hear and see the whole story. Sheila

  4. A remarkable feat indeed, but what a wonderful way to spend your summer. At our time of life, we live in tune with nature with 500 acres around us to care for. When we were your age we too went hiking in the mountains like snails carrying all our need on our backs and thoroughly enjoying ourselves although it was tough going. It is all good character building stuff. Congratulations.

  5. Wow, what a journey. I went to college in Eastern TN, and I remember meeting lots of people hiking the Appalachian Trails. Sometimes my roommate when pick up hitchhikers who just needed to get to a store to get some supplies before hitting the trail again. Lots of fun stories to hear. It was inspiring! You are inspiring!

Leave a Reply

