Creative Energy

Creative energy has been bubbling to the surface for me the last couple of days. It has felt good. I have been accomplishing many little tasks.

Yesterday I made fresh pasta from scratch. Bernie helped me for about half of the process. This is the pasta maker that he bought me for Christmas, pretty handy little machine (Thanks Honey!).

Making Pasta

I have only made pasta from scratch a couple of times, and unfortunatly in the past it has been a process that frustrated me greatly, and made me quite mad actually. Nothing seemed to go right, and it is so much work, it felt like it just wasn’t worth it. This time thankfully things seemed to come together for me. It is still a time consuming process (maybe I am just not doing it right…) but I enjoyed it this time. A step in the right direction for sure.

Fresh Pasta

Now I just need to get a drying rack to hang the noodles on so that they can dry. I started making this a little late in the eveninig, so they did not have a chance to dry as much as they should have I think. In the future I think I need to make the pasta around lunch time or something like that. It sure did taste good though when it was all done!

Rhubarb Strawberry Bars

And then tonight I had a bunch of stawberries that we bought, that needed to be used before going bad. And, our rhubarb is starting to come up. What better combination than strawberries and rhubarb. So I looked up some recipes and decided on Rhubarb Strawberry Bars. As I sit here typing this post I have not yet tasted them, but I do have to say they smell wonderful! They will be a weekend indulgence!

Summer Shopping Bag

Today I finished another shopping bag. I usually am not drawn to such bright colors, I am much more into earth tones and such. But I just loved these fabrics when I saw them, and decided to make a bag out of them. The stripy liner is a little hard to see in this picture, but the colors are exactly the same, and it makes a wonderful summer shopping bag. I have really been enjoying matching fabrics for the outside and liner of these bags.

We will see if the creative energy carries over into the weekend.

12 thoughts on “Creative Energy

  1. You have made me SO hungry!! That pasta looks wonderful Stacey. I agree, it does seem like so much trouble to make yourself, but it is so much nicer in the end. I used to love making ravioli. My family loved it. πŸ™‚

    • Joan: I bet your Ravioli tasted wonderful. That is one that I have not tried yet, and would like to. It seems like it might not be quite as time consuming in certain ways…… maybe not. πŸ™‚

  2. Very nice! You look like you were having fun with the noodles! How did the strawberry rhubarb bars turn out? Those looked really good!

    • Erin: The Strawberry Rhubarb bars were wonderful! A great mix of sweet and tangy. It was a great find as far as a recipe goes, I will have to add it to my recipe collection for sure!

      Gaelyn: Yeah, the fresh pasta is only something I want to do once in a while for sure. I would send some of the bars your way, but they might end up a bit mushy by the time they got there. πŸ™‚

  3. Looks like it takes time and concentration to make noodles from scratch. Call me lazy, but I’ll just buy them. But the strawberry rhubarb smells loverly. Hope it tasted as good as it looks. Feel free to send some my way.

    Your shopping bag is bright and exciting.

    Glad you’re feeling those creative juices flowing.

  4. that pasta looks so yummy. if you ever come to austria, please bring your pasta maker with!
    btw, you and bernie have some lovely blogs.

    Dale

    • Dale: Thanks for stopping by to visit. I will be sure to bring it with me! πŸ™‚ Thank you for the complements on our blogs, we both enjoy being here in blog land!

  5. Mmmm, that all looks yummy! I’ve never tried making pasta from scratch – I do have a pasta machine but I use it for polymer clay (great for getting nice smooth sheets but it does mean you can’t use it for food later!) I love the idea of making my own fillings for ravioli and the like though so perhaps I should give it a try!

    I love the bag too – the colours are lovely and zingy! Well done! Great that you’re feeling so creative – I’m finding all this spring sunshine a great motivator for getting stuck in to things too!

    xxx

  6. Stacey, you sure do keep busy, i love the bags you make they look very professional. do you sell them anywhere?
    Gill

  7. I can only imagine that making pasta is indeed an art! Your pasta looks beautiful. Your RS bars look divine….
    And a new lovely bag. Being drawn to bright colors after winter makes sense to me!

  8. Dear Stacey,
    Homemade pasta is so tasty! It is getting into the “groove” of it I think that makes the difference. Years ago I made all of our noodles. We loved them.
    Your shopping bag is beautiful! I too love to have a “bright” sometimes.
    Strawberry-rhubarb bars would be fantastic. I also love strawberry-rhubarb pie.
    I think it is break time. I feel the hungry bug coming on.
    Hope your creative juices keep flowing and you keep sharing!
    Sherry

Leave a Reply

