Natures Little Jewels

Yesterday Bernie and I made it outside for a nice hike. We did a large loop walking on both dirt roads, and trails. One of our first stops is a lovely little hillside meadow that we enjoy going to, because it is filled with wildflowers when it gets warm enough. We were hoping that perhaps there might be one or two little flowers out, but no such luck. Its just not warm enough yet. But we still enjoyed sitting there, looking out across the San Juan Islands.

 

Rattlesnake Plantain

I found some Rattlesnake Plantain. I am very partial to this little plant, it is the first plant that Bernie taught me when we first met. These little jems always bring a smile to my face. A fun fact about these guys is that you can pull a leaf off, rub it gently between your fingers, causing the two outer layers of the leaf to seperate from each other, and then blow it up like a little balloon from the stem. Native American children used to do this for fun.

 

Backlit Lichen

This lichen looked so magical being lit from behind. It makes it look like lace or ruffles.

 

Dark Red Fungi

I love some of the vivid colors that nature produces. The reds and oranges of this fungus are so rich. There were a handfull of these all lined up on this dead tree trunk.

 

Moss Reaching for Spirit

I love the delecate nature of these mosses. The leafs are so dainty and almost transparent. They almost have the quality of stained glass.

There are so many little jewels out in nature, if we just take the time to put our noses down close to the ground (or trees, or whatever). There are many magical qualities to the larger picture of nature, such as old wise trees, but I think the small jems often get missed along the way.

We had many beautiful moments along our walk, but one of the most special to me was the Owls. Owls have become my new power animal, and as we were on our way back toward the car two owls started talking to each other on each side of the trail that we were on. We stopped to listen to their conversation, and actually spotted one of them. We watched him, as he watched us. We shared an enjoyable moment together before we continued on with our walk.

16 thoughts on “Natures Little Jewels

  1. Oh your walk sounds wonderful! I have never heard of rattlesnake plantain-such a wonderful tale, thank you. Your photos are lovely jewels of the earth. Thank you for sharing.

  2. WOW!! This is all so fantastic Stacey, I dont know where to start. That is terrific info on the Rattlesnake Plantain. I wonder if we have any plants here which do the same? Love all the rest but especially the moss pic. What a great walk you had. I have always thought that it is tremendeous you both share the same interests, this is the only thing missing in my life, the being able to share.

    • Joan: I am very lucky that Bernie is my significant other. We do well exploring life together, and have no trouble being together 24/7. You are a warm loving soul, I bet you will draw someone into your life to share with. But also, as Bernie just said, you share with all of us here in blogland on a daily basis, and we love what you have to share with us!

  3. Oh what beautiful pictures Stacey! I especially love the last one – you’re right it does have a stained glass quality about it – I’m continually amazed by just how beautiful nature can be….

    xxx

  4. Rattlesnake plantain, what a great sounding plant, (not one we have over here) and what you can do with it. The moss looks so fairy like.
    About smooth needle felt – I work the felt until it is quite hard and smooth, it takes hours and hours, and I trim as well, until it is ‘halo-less’.

  5. Nature is beautiful and this has been captured perfectly in your beautiful photos. Which lens did you use if you dont mind me asking?
    xx

    • Karen: For these photos I used our Canon 60mm macro ultrasonic lens. Its a very nice one, and I haven’t used it for quite a while. I thought it was a perfect time to play with it. I usually am using my Canon 18-55mm lens (the one that came with the camera) which I have a circular polarizing filter for, which is nice for the landscapes.

  6. Thanks Stacey for the info on the lens! I am hoping to buy a macro lens soon and was unsure which one to go for.
    xx

  7. These are beautiful photographs especially the one of the lichen, so delicate and ethereal. The rattlesnake plantain sounds fun 🙂 We have various plantains in the UK but not rattlesnake. Plantain is a good medicinal herb too, at least it is over here. I’m certain the Native Americans would use it too though maybe not this particular variety?

    • Rowan: Yes, plantain is a very good medicinal herb, although this is not a true plantain. It was still used medicinally by the native people though.

      Maisie: I have a Canon Rebel XT. I have had it for a few years now, and its a really good little camera! Mine is only 8mp, now the standard Canon Rebel is 10mp.

      Sherry: I know, the rain is a hard one. We get frustrated in this area because of that. There are so many rainy days (especially in the winter) that it really limits the amount of outdoor photography you can do. Swans are beautiful birds, enjoy their energy!

  8. How fascinating that the plaintain plant can be a balloon. I’d love to see that.
    Beautiful pictures by the way what camera do you have?

  9. Dear Stacey,
    Thank you for the macro shots. I had hoped to take some while in the PNW but it rained the entire time…I was concerned about getting the camera wet.
    I love the ways of the first people! I can just see the children blowing the leaves of the Rattlesnake Plantain.
    Owls are amazing birds. My new power animal is the Swan.
    I enjoyed this walk with you and Bernie.
    All my relation,
    Sherry

  10. Hi Stacey,
    Sounds like your rattlesnake plantain was a hit! I would love to try that sometime. When I was a kid we used to whistle on leaves placed between our thumbs and also whistle on the little wings of maple seeds. Plants can be so much fun!

    • Erin: Yeah, there are so many magical things we can do with plants, and some of the fun things like this aren’t well known any more. We used to whistle on grass blades between our thumbs, but never on the little wings of maple seeds, thats a fun idea. I always loved how the maple seeds were like little helicopters when you threw them up in the air.

Leave a Reply

