Artisan Bread

I bought a new book recently called “Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day”, by Jeff Hertzberg and Zoe Francois. This is truely an AMAZING process!! It is the most simple bread making meathod in the world.

You mix up your ingredients, no kneading, just mix until there are no dry spots. Then you put it into your dough rising container, and let it sit on the counter for a couple of hours. Then you stick it into the fridge. Thats it for the dough. You use it within the next 14 days.

 

Dough Rising Container

 

You take the piece out that you want to use, dont knead, there is never any kneading. You shape it into a ball by pulling the edges down, so the top is all smooth. Then you set it on cornmeal to rest for 40 minutes.

 

Resting

 

They suggest you use a baking stone, but I dont have one at this point. The cookie sheet has been working fine for me. You heat the oven to 450 degrees farenheight, put a broiler pan (or somethinig like that) on the bottom shelf that you will later put hot water into. When the oven is ready you slide your loaf onto the baking stone/cookie sheet. Pour 1 cup hot water into the bottom pan, and quickly shut the door. You bake it for about 30 minutes and it looks like this!

 

All Done

 

For better baking instructions visit Mother Earth News’ web page. They had an article on this, taking a couple of the recipes from the book. I still highly recomend buying the book, because there are all kinds of recipes in there. But to try it out, go here . When you get hooked on it you will run out and buy the book.

I have made things the last three nights with this dough. I need to make a new batch in the morning. I made rolls the first night, and a loaf like this the other two nights. It tastes sooooo good!

12 thoughts on “Artisan Bread

  1. This looks interesting! Not sure how available cornmeal is over here…but am sure flour would do as well. As a mostly self taught bread maker, I have always had the suspicion that some bakers make it sound more complicated than it should be…

    • PG: I agree, many things are much more simple than some want to make them. But I think that is with all aspects of life. Some people need to make life a challenge for themselves. I am much more for enjoying life, and everything it has to offer. So if there is a yummy recipe that is easy, thats what I am going to do.

  2. I am so glad that you wrote about this recipe. Checked out your significant others blog, it is lovely. And then I noticed that you had CHICKENS, big big interest to us. Can’t have them in White Rock you know.

    And then when I scrolled down, there was Artisan BREAD! Do I sound very excited? I have been a bread maker since I was very young, and I love it.

    I am always willing to try new techniques. This sounds so easy, and I am going to give it a try. With less and less free time, this sounds like the perfect recipe for me.

    Thanks for sharing. I will probably have to go and get the book.
    Jen

    • Jen: I am glad that you enjoyed the last couple of posts. I am sorry that you can’t have chickens in your area, I will never understand that one…… If you enjoy making bread I highly suggest this method. There is something magical about kneading and being very involved in your bread, but some times its nice to have a way to save some time and still come out with a great product.

      Rebecca: I hope he enjoys it. Thats fun to share the cooking responsibilities. And its always wonderful to have fresh bread in the house!

  3. You’re bread looks wonderful. My husband is the baker in our house (and actually doing some kneading as I type!) so I will definitely have to refer him to the book!

  4. Wow, thats fantastic, i used to love making bread when my girls were wee, but finding the time lately has been a problem!! this looks a fab way to still be able to do the whole “fresh” baked bread thing, thank you !

Leave a Reply

