A Bag of Butterflies

A Butterfly Bag

 

Working on my shopping bags has been on my mind the past few days. But I have really been in an off mood lately, which has left me low on energy to express myself in any way. Today my creativity bug came back as it were.  

I have really been enjoying finding beautiful frabrics to do these bags with. I love the colors of these butterflies and the flowers in the background. You can’t really see it in this picture, but there are little golden vines in the background for highlights.

Sewing is one of the many crafts that I taught myself. I used to be facinated with fashion, and wanted to be able to make things myself. I have made a few clothing items over the years, but have done many other crafts with my trusty little sewing machine.

It’s very strange to me that sewing your own clothes used to be much cheaper than buying them in the store. When my parents were children it was very common for their mothers to sew them different clothing items that would last a few years. But now with the ability to mass produce everything, you can buy a dress at Wal-Mart (or any other mega store) for $10. With the cost of fabric, and your time, it would cost you much more to make the same item.

The ironic thing is, I have found Wal-Mart to be the cheapest place locally to buy fabric, and so that is where I have been going lately. I have very mixed feelings on all of this. In certain ways it is great that these stores are able to provide us with very reasonable prices, so even people on a tight budget can afford new clothing. But at what cost….. There is no love put into those items, and at what cost to both the environment and the people who had to produce these items.

Well anyways…. even though I am using mass produced fabric, I made this re-usable shopping bag to cut back on using plastic bags at the grocery store. I put my love, and energy into it. Its really satisfying to me to take the raw materials and making something out of them.

10 thoughts on “A Bag of Butterflies

  1. Love the butterflies. The bags are cute and such a good idea.
    My Mom used to sew all my clothes because it was cheaper, but no more.
    I definately have a love/hate relationship with Wal-Mart.

    • Gaelyn: Thank you for the kind words. Yeah, the whole Wal-Mart thing is a dilema some times…. such is modern life though I think.

      Jen: Thank you! I went and visited Suzanne’s blog, thank you for the suggestion. She has very beautiful bags. It’s interesting that you are just across the border. Thank you for visiting!

  2. Your shopping bag is very bright and cheerful. They are great ideas, you might like to take a look at Suzanne’s blog, Just another Hang Up. She makes the loveliest bags, and she sells them online.

    I do live in White Rock, BC. We used to think it was the only place called White Rock, until Google Earth came out.

    Yes most of the flowers are shots taken withing a week or two of the date posted. The exceptions would be the “I’m in the Garden Archives, those are earlier shots.

    Glad to see you drop by.

    Jen

  3. That is really lovely Stacey!! Love the butterflies on it.

    Years ago I used to make every iem of clothes I wore and also curtains, duvet colvers and pillowslips, everything. Then material got to be so expensive it was not worth maing them anymore as it was cheaper to buy. The problem with this is that there is no individuality anymore.

    • Joan: I agree, in general we have lost so much individuality and love in the products that we use on a daily basis. I really love going to farmers markets that have both food and crafts, even if I dont buy a whole lot, I love to see all the different things that people create and grow.

      Erin: Thank you very much. I am feeling better, and getting my physical and spiritual energy back also.

      Gwen: I think this is a subject that some people are starting to think more about. And I think in some ways we are moving toward the more locally and handmade items, but we have a long ways to go also. And I think people are starting to focus a little more on the imprint that they leave on the earth, but as I said, its hard to pull ourselves out of the comfort that our current life styles has afforded.

      Karen: Butterflies are such magical little beings. They almost always seem so carefree, drifting on the wind, enjoying the beautiful flowers. They are great little creatures to watch, and reflect on.

  4. I feel as if I wrote this… but you have said it much better than I…

    I am in the process of gathering fabric together to start some bags.. I agree with everything you said!!!!

  5. I ADORE butterflies, so the fabric you have used for this bag gets a great big thumbs up from me xx

  6. So very lovely! The butterfly print is beautiful. I’m pleased to hear that you taught yourself to sew – it’s something I’m hoping to attempt soon. My mum gave me a ‘how to use a sewing machine’ lesson a few weekends ago but I haven’t managed to find much time to practice. Seeing your lovely bag makes me want to go and get my machine out now and get sewing!!!
    xxx

    • Rebecca: I am always happy to inspire. Sewing is one of those things that I really don’t think is too complex. Especially if you start with a more simple project and work your way up. I think some people expect to be able to sew an evening gown the first go around, which just isnt practical. You seem to do so well with all your other crafts, I bet you will do just great with it.

Leave a Reply

