Finding Balance

The chaotic energy has not left our lives yet….. We ended up returning to Washington state last Tuesday. We have been spending some time trying to figure out the next step. I kind of wimped out on poor Bernie. I just didn’t quite feel up to doing both the Arizona Trail and the Pacific Crest Trail all in one summer. Together it would be a total of 3,400 miles, which I am sure I could do, but for some reason I just don’t feel up to it. Possibly partially because we haven’t done a long distance hike in quite some time. So I am much more excited about doing the Pacific Crest Trail, and it looks like at this point (we keep going back and forth between doing one and doing both) that is the one that we will be doing. I am getting quite excited about it.

The only downside to waiting to do the PCT is the waiting. It is 2 months away, and Bernie especially is very ready to get out into the world and do something new and fresh. So I do have to say I feel a bit guilty at limiting his adventures for this season….. He is being quite understanding with me, but does have moments of frustration at the idea of waiting around for a couple of months.

I do not feel like I am in the shape I would like to be to do a long distance trail. So one of my main goals for this period is to get my body to the place I would like it. I have trouble with one of my shoulders, it often starts to hurt quite a bit when I wear my backpack for extended periods. I need to do some upper body work, so that it is stronger, and will no longer hurt me. I want to really work on the mental aspects of getting ready for hiking also. In the past I easily fallen into focusing on the negative, whether that was pain, or the challenges of terrain. So I am going to turn around my perspective on the whole experience, and enjoy each moment for what it has to offer.

One thing that we might do over the next couple of months is to find some type of spiritual/meditation center to volunteer at. It would be and interesting new experience. We have been looking online this evening for possible places around here, and other interesting places in the western US.

Another chaotic and frustrating thing that happened is that Bernie lost all his photos that he has taken since about Christmas, because his computer crashed, and when he got it working again, it did not save those photos. There is a slight possibility they might have been saveable by a trained computer professional….. which I do kind of wish we had done, because he had some jems. But as Bernie said, in the long run it doesn’t matter, it just is. Its just too bad. But he will get many more beautiful ones, so its not the end of the world.

I do hope that things calm down a little bit, we have had quite a few crazy things going on. Its strange how that kind of energy comes in waves every once in a while.

One thing that I do want to do with my time here is to get some crafting done. I really would like to make some more of those re-usable shopping bags. I also wanted to try making some re-usable produce bags. I saw a plan for them online one time, and have a couple of ideas to play around with.

Well, that’s how everything stands for this moment, but I dare not say that’s how its going to happen, because things keep changing on a weekly or daily basis lately.

6 thoughts on “Finding Balance

  1. Change, so many changes. I like that the two of you go with the flow and dream on into your next moment. I wish you strength for your shoulders, clarity for each step you take, patience if you want to walk before the weather is clear, fun in making the things you feel inspiration to create mixed with fun and love. Welcome back to the NW!

  2. I totally agree with Arija. Obviously, the time was not right for AZ. Yet that doesn’t have to be forever.

    I love the volunteer idea. Sounds like that might put you in a good space. And help prep you for the next adventure.

    PCT would be awesome. A friend did it a few years ago, mostly all at once.

    Maybe you’ll be ready for a cross canyon hike in the fall.

    In the meantime, welcome back to blogland. I’ve missed you both.

  3. The volunteer idea sounds really fun! Just enjoy the feelings that you’re getting from the crazy energy. A fun opportunity to grow as individuals and partners. 🙂

  4. Hello Stacey. Time like this can be very frustrating but each of us knows what we are capable of and so should not undertake things if we feel we cannot manage it as that is when we do not enjoy it.

    I hope you and Bernie find something to do which you both enjoy.

  5. I can only reiterate what your other readers have said. Good on you for listening to your body and not being afraid to act on what you heard.

    Who knows what will come from your volunteering experiences!!

    Whatever happens I am sure you will make the best of every moment as it comes, I wish that for you and Bernie.

    🙂
    hen
    x

Leave a Reply

