A New Adventure!

Well, it looks like the blog will take quite a break this summer…… It makes the blogging part of me sad. But the adventure will be worth the break. We are headed out the end of this week to drive to Arizona with Bernie’s parents. They are dropping us off at the Mexican border, and we will be hiking the Arizona Trail. It is a 800 mile route that travels from the Mexican border to the Utah border through the heart of Arizona.

To see some maps and more information on our hike visit the Arizona Trail Association’s web site at http://www.aztrail.org/ . Bernie has had the itch to hike for a little while now, and its been a bit since we have done a real long distance trail.

And then if we are feeling good after the Arizona trail, Bernie would really like to make our way to southern California to start the Pacific Crest Trail. This is a trail that travels from the Mexican border in California to the Canadian border in Washington. It is about 2,650 miles long. Bernie had finished this trail before I met him. He did it over 2 seperate summers. If we do happen to do it this summer, we most likely would thru hike, which means we would do the whole trail. For more information on the PCT visit http://www.pcta.org .

Hiking a long distance trail is an amazing experience. It becomes a way of life. When you hike one as long as the PCT you are immersed in nature for about 4 months or so (depending on your speed, and the length of the trail you are on).

Bernie and I have hiked quite a lot since we have been together. We started with the Continental Divide Trail (CDT) which is a 2,700 mile trail that travels from the Canadian border in Montana to the Mexican border in New Mexico. I only finished 2,000 miles of it, because of an injury, but Bernie did the whole thing. Then we moved onto the Pacific Northwest Trail (PNT) which is a 1,200 mile trail that travels from Washingtons outer coast to Glacier National Park in Montana. And then over a few different trips we completed about 3/4 of the California Coastal Trail.

It has been a good number of years since we have done a long distance trail, so it will be fun to get into that lifestyle again for a little while. We will be taking my camera with to get some nice memory shots along the way. I hope to share them with all of you one of these days when we settle down long enough to do that.

I wish everyone the best of summers! May adventures abound for all of you, and beauty surround you!! Everyone that is doing a garden this year, I wish you a wonderful crop, and lots of joy playing out in the dirt! To all the creative people out there, keep expressing yourselves with your beautiful crafts! Perhaps we will run across a Library every now and then, so I can drop in on my blog and let you know how our adventures are going!

Enjoy each and every moment! And always Do What You Love!

5 thoughts on “A New Adventure!

  1. I am glad you have surfaced again Stacey, I have been wondering how it is going with the two of you. WOW!! What an adventure you are going to be having. I wish you the best of luck and look forward to seeing whatever pictures you may have time to post somewhere along the line. Drop me an e-mail sometime if you can and I will let everyone know how you are doing.

  2. Oooh your back! Oh but your going again 😦
    Have a wonderful and safe hike, sounds amazing and I look forward to photos and updates. Take care xxx

  3. Have a wonderful hiking adventure. I shall consult my atlasas and maps to see where your peregrinations will take you both. And I will keep my eyes peeled for your sporadic posts. God Bless! G

  4. Whaa… I will miss you, BUT this is so exciting! Have you ever encountered a bear when you are out for long times in the wild like that? Will you have food dropped for you? Maybe you can write a book and publish it later. Photos, drawings, tales to read…

    I have given you and award in my latest post. I know you may not be able to pass it on… that is fine by me. I just want more folks to be exposed to the loveliness that you are.

    Wishing you the best on your journey!

    Tammie

    • Tammie: Yes, we have seen quite a few black bears on our hikes. I have yet to see a Grizzly bear on one of the hikes, but believe that I saw a mother and cub one other time, although it was a very fleeting glance. We love to experience all of the wildlife out there, and are always amazed at the fearful questions that we get asked about hiking in nature. “Do you bring a gun with you for the bears?” “Aren’t you afraid of getting bit by a snake?”, and so many more. The thing that I like to say to people when they are asking fearful questions about the wildlife is “If I was going to be worried about anything, I would be more worried about how crazy and unpredictable humans can be than any animal that is out there”.
      As far as food we will be able to resupply in towns, and when there is a place that doesn’t have a store, but we need food we will ship a box of food ahead to ourselves by general delivery.
      We have been told many times that we should write a book about our hiking….. maybe some day.
      Thank you very much for the award! I’m sorry I probably wont get around to passing it on, but it is very sweet of you!!

Leave a Reply

