Fluffy White Snow

Little birds in the snow

 

This morning we awoke to snow falling. It made a good effort to come down all day long, and finally slowed down this afternoon just as the high winds started up once again. Today’s snow is much more beautiful than the other day, but now I wonder if it will all be blown off. We ended up getting around 4 inches of snow, maybe a bit more. Unfortunatly I didn’t get any good pictures of our place today, they just all look dark and dismal. But I did get this one of the birds trying to get some food in their little tummies. I feel bad for them out there having to make their living in this weather. We have a small pond in the yard, I tried to get a picture, but you really cant tell that there is supposed to be a pond under all that snow. We keep a stock tank heater in one end, that keeps a hole open for the fish that live in there, and the birds have access to water. So it works out really well, its nice to see them be able to get a drink in between snacks.

I went out to let the chickens out late this morning, and usually when I open the door they all rush out no matter what the weather is, but today they took one look at that snow and gave me a look of ‘do we look crazy?’. So the chickens spent the day inside.

Just before dark Bernie came out and played in the snow with me! We went sledding down one of the hills in our back pasture. I haven’t gone sledding in such a long time, and I thought it sounded fun. Unfortunately its rather dry snow (strange for here!) and we weren’t sliding all that well, but we still had fun! We don’t get tons of snow here usually, so I figured I better go play in it while I have the chance.

I really thought I was going to get all kinds of crafts done today, but it just didn’t happen. I am having a bit of a relaps into my cold, so I just felt like sitting on the couch and complaining (until I went out and frolicked in the snow). Maybe I will get something accomplished this evening while we watch TV. I am really wondering if I am going to be able to make it into the craft show on Friday to sell the crafts…. we have a long driveway, and the drifts make it hard to get out sometimes. So we will see what the rest of the week brings! I did get some of our gifts shipped off, so that is a good feeling.

If nothing else, this kind of weather is really good for spending time just relaxing and reflecting. Maybe I will do a little more of that this evening, reflecting on what I would like to accomplish this week, month, next year, in this life, so on and so forth.

I am off to eat some dinner and warm up in front of the woodstove!

4 thoughts on “Fluffy White Snow

  1. I’m so happy you could get out and play in the snow! Isn’t it just glorious coming home to a woodburner and a cup of warm after getting cold and wet in the snow!?

    hen
    xx

  2. Wow Eeee look at all that snow, your photo looks like a greetings card, beautiful 🙂 Clever hens staying inside – whoever said chickens were not very bright? hee hee
    Karen x

  3. It is wonderful to be able to come indoors to a warm, glowing fire. We have used wood heat only in this house for about 12 years or so, and its so wonderful.

    I know, the chickens were having none of that cold white stuff, they knew how lucky they were in their cozy chicken house. And they were quite happy to be fed in there, most of the time they are fed outside.

  4. Our girls were in “lock-down” for a few days. I felt so bad for them but -20s is just too cold. They appreciated the oats and sunflower seeds I gave them to pass the time. I have a friend who has a TV for her girls, so they don’t get bored. I won’t go there. I fear it may dumb down the flock.

    Grace and Peace

Leave a Reply

